Faculty Achievement

Subscribe to Faculty Achievement
woman standing with book in front of lion statue

Nichola Gutgold and "Still Paving the Way for Madam President"

Nichola Gutgold writes "Still Paving the Way for Madam President" to continue the story on the progress women have made in politics. 

Old Main

Penn State announces fixed-term faculty promotions, effective July 1, 2017

The following is a list of Penn State fixed-term faculty promotions, effective July 1.
Anita Serrano

Lehigh Valley instructor saves her students over $8,000, authors free textbook

One Penn State Lehigh Valley faculty member is paving the way to put updated, free course materials into the hands of students by authoring Penn State’s first openly licensed Pressbooks digital textbook.
woman and man standing with award

Denise Ogden Receives Atherton Award

Denise Ogden, professor of marketing at Penn State Lehigh Valley, was one of six Penn State faculty members to receive the 2017 George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching. 

Office for General Education Seed Grant Logo

Office for General Education announces Integrative Studies Seed Grant awards

The Integrative Studies Seed Grant Program, offered through the Penn State Office for General Education, will support 71 different course development projects this summer. In response to the large volume of highly qualified proposals, the budget was generously increased by more than 50 percent by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Undergraduate Education.

Penn State announces 2017 faculty and staff awards

Each year, Penn State recognizes outstanding faculty and staff with annual awards in teaching and excellence. The faculty and staff awards ceremony is Wednesday, April 19.

Six faculty members receive 2017 Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching

Six Penn State faculty members -- John Beale, senior lecturer of journalism in the College of Communications; Theresa Clemente, instructor of business at Penn State Wilkes-Barre; Brian Crosby, lecturer of psychology in the College of the Liberal Arts; James Lyon, professor of music in the College of Arts and Architecture; Denise Ogden, professor marketing at Penn State Lehigh Valley; and JoAnne Pumariega, instructor of mathematics and Spanish at Penn State Berks -- have received the 2017 George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching.
Kate Byrnes in a meeting room

TWC academic seminar Kate Byrnes

Kate Byrnes, a first year student majoring in rehabilitation health services at Penn State Lehigh Valley, is seen here on her first day of the seminar in D.C.

Student at Lincoln memorial

TWC academic seminar Feng Peng Wang at Lincoln Memorial

Feng Peng Wang, who is known as Leo, is a first year telecommunications major at Penn State Lehigh Valley and is from China. She visited the Lincoln Memorial during the academic seminar.

Jacqueline McLaughlin headshot

Lehigh Valley professor receives esteemed Jefferson Science Fellowship

Jacqueline McLaughlin, associate professor of biology at Penn State Lehigh Valley, has been appointed to serve in the 2017 Jefferson Science Fellowship program by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. Penn State President Eric Barron nominated McLaughlin for the fellowship.