Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Penn State Lehigh Valley Advisory Board is a group of alumni, business professionals, and community individuals who serve as community liaisons in support of the Penn State Lehigh Valley campus. Within such a role, these individuals provide input into campus decisions and directions, become the link with area legislators in supporting university initiatives, and serve as the community connection in promoting University programs.

Advisory Board Expectations


  • Attend and actively participate in at least four of our six board meetings each year. These meetings take place in September, November, January, March, May, and July of each year.
  • Attend Penn State Lehigh Valley sponsored events during the course of the year.
  • Serve a three-year term, which can be renewed twice, before rotating off the board for at least one year.
  • Actively participate on at least one of the advisory board committees, generate ideas, attend meetings, offer feedback, etc.


  • Provide an annual gift to Penn State Lehigh Valley of at least $250. Gifts to University Park and/or restricted funds, such as the Nittany Lion Club, do not count towards this requirement.
  • Help to identify and/or solicit other potential donors (individuals, businesses, foundations) that might provide support for Penn State Lehigh Valley students and programs.


  • Support Penn State Lehigh Valley students by serving as a resource in helping them to find jobs, internships, and/or by working with faculty and students to facilitate projects and experiences that support educational programs.
  • Proudly represent Penn State Lehigh Valley in the community by being knowledgeable about our programs, initiatives, and opportunities to give time, talent, and financial support to the campus.

Current Penn State Lehigh Valley Advisory Board Members

Executive Committee

Catherine E. Durso | Partner, Fitzpatrick Lentz & Bubba, P.C.

Winnie DiLeo Melinsky | Community Leader

Howard L. Kulp | President, Howard Kulp Architects, P.C.

Shane McGee | IT Business and Program Manager, Air Products

Tina Q. Richardson, Ph.D. | Chancellor

Board Members

Andrew Block | Development Director, Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network

Christopher Bogden | Sales Engineer, Power & Industrial Air Systems

Cristina Braynen | President, Student Government Association

Terry DeGroot | Managing Principal, Terraform Engineering, LLC

Linda Shay Gardner | Attorney, Gardner Law Office

Bruce Haines | Managing Partner, Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Susan D. Johnson | New Channel Development Manager, Crayola

Steven A. Markowitz | President, Allen Organ Company

Megan Mattern | Controller and Principal Accounting Officer, UGI Utilities, Inc.

Pete Nickischer | Lieutenant, Upper Macungie Township Police Department

Prasant (Sean) Pandey, M.D. | Cardiologist, Lehigh Valley Health Network

Kelly E. Payne | Organizational Development Consultant, Lehigh Valley Health Network

Susan D. Johnson | New Channel Development Manager, Crayola LLC

Yamil Sanchez Rivera, Ed.D. | Executive Director, Promise Neighborhoods

Tom Skeans | Managing Director, Sperry Van Ness Imperial Realty

Juan C. Vidal | Managing Director, Offix Systems

Hussam (Sam) Yacoub, D.O. | Neurologist, Lehigh Valley Hospital

Ex-officio Board Members

Tom Dubreuil | Director of Student Services

Roger Egolf, Ph.D. | Associate Professor of Chemistry

Jessie Heimann | Director of Strategic Communications

Kristy Hove | Institutional Planner

Helene Miksitz | Director of Business Services

Denise O'Neill, Ph.D. | Director of Enrollment Management

Debbie Zuech-Smyrl | Executive Assistant to the Chancellor