Traffic & Parking
Drivers of all vehicles operated on campus roadways are subject to the regulations in the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code and enforced by University Police & Public Safety, Pennsylvania State Police, and the Upper Saucon Township Police. Drivers not obeying the laws may be cited by any of these agencies.
If you drive a vehicle to Penn State Lehigh Valley, you must obtain and properly display a FREE PARKING PERMIT. Failure to comply may result in a parking ticket and/or a penalty. Applications for the parking permit are available here.
Failure to pay the penalty can result in loss of registration privileges at all campuses of the University and/or other disciplinary action. It is your responsibility to be familiar with the regulations. Read this before attending the first day of classes.
- Parking permits must be visibly displayed on the rearview mirror with the front side facing out whenever parked on campus.
- Permits are transferable and can be used on any vehicle the student may be driving.
- Students may register more than one vehicle; however, only one permit will be issued.
- University Police & Public Safety must be notified within 24 hours of any change in registration information: vehicle, address, or license plate, etc.
- University parking/traffic violation fines are payable only in the Bursar’s /Finance/Business offices (Room 142, 143B, or 147).
- Students have an additional option of paying through LionPath directly.
General Vehicle Provisions
- All vehicles on campus must be registered with University Police & Public Safety.
- For students, permits must be renewed each academic year and can be obtained at the reception desk.
- For faculty & staff, permits must be renewed every 3 years and can be obtained through Police & Public Safety (room 114).
- Any vehicle parked on the Lehigh Valley campus will be parked at the risk of the owner.
- The University reserves the right to tow any illegally parked vehicle at the owner's expense.
- Registered students, faculty, and staff are never considered visitors, and any vehicle operated by student, faculty & staff will be ticketed if parked in a designated visitor's parking area.
- University regulations and the Motor Vehicle Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are enforced and in effect at all times on the Lehigh Valley campus.
Parking and Traffic Regulations
- Pedestrians shall have the right-of-way at all times.
- The speed limit on all University roads is 15 m.p.h.
- Students may not park in areas reserved for faculty, staff, or visitors, or in the service drive/fire lane.
- Operating or parking vehicles on grass areas, or walkways designed for pedestrian use, is not permitted.
- Areas not specifically lined for parking should be considered a fire lane or no parking zone; e.g., along the side of any road, driveways, or walkways on campus.
- Only vehicles bearing official handicapped or disabled veteran license plates, or handicapped placard, may park in marked handicapped spaces.
- University medical permits do not authorize the use of handicapped access.
- Medical permits will be approved through the campus nurse's office located in Health Services on the 2nd floor.
- NO permit will be issued without consulting with the campus nurse.
- Health Services hours: Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Medical permits are issued for special area parking with an expiration date on the permit.
- All medical permits must be displayed on the front dashboard of the medical permit holder's registered vehicle.
- Medical permits are for the exclusive use of the party to whom issued. The medical permit shall be clearly visible for University Police & Public Safety to see.
Use of a Substitute Vehicle
- On occasion it may be necessary for a student to drive a vehicle to campus that has not been registered for parking.
- All parking rules and regulations are still in effect.
- Additionally, you should transfer the permit issued to the regularly used vehicle to the substitute vehicle.
- If the permit is not placed in the substitute vehicle, the operator must report to the receptionist desk as soon as he/she arrives to report the vehicle temporarily being driven on campus.
- The substitute vehicle permit shall be displayed on the driver’s side of the dashboard in plain view.
- If the operator follows this procedure, he/she will insure that a ticket is not issued for operating an unregistered vehicle.
- Faculty, students, and staff operating substitute vehicles are not permitted to park in visitor's spaces.
Parking Violations and Penalties
- Reserved Spaces - $20
- No Parking Area - $10
- Handicapped Area - $50
- Fire Lane - $20
- No Permit - $10
- Taking Two Spaces - $10
- Wrong Area – Parked in Faculty/Staff Parking Area - $10
- Wrong Area – Parked in Student Parking Area - $10
- Wrong Area – Parked in Visitor Parking Area - $10
- Failure to give right-of-way to pedestrian - $20.00
- Failure to stop at stop sign - $20.00
- Speeding or Driving Recklessly - $25
- Other Violation - $10
Where do I pay a traffic fine?
A student's account (Lion Path) will be charged for violations on vehicles displaying a current parking permit. All payments can be made in person at the Bursar's Office, room 142, 143B, & 147, 8:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m., or by mail at the address listed on the ticket. Students can use the convenience of paying directly through LionPath.
What happens if I do not pay my fine?
- Students: May lose parking or vehicle operation privileges and face disciplinary action for repeated or severe violations of parking and operating regulations.
- Faculty/Staff: Violations will be charged through PAYROLL DEDUCTIONS if they are not paid within 14 days.
- Visitors/Guests: Violations may turn into a “State Citation”.
Appealing Parking & Traffic Violations
An appeal to a parking or traffic violation notice (ticket) can be made by a recipient by completing an online appeal form.
The completed appeal form is then referred to the parking appeals committee for adjudication. All decisions of the appeals committee are final.
Alcohol & Drugs
It is illegal for anyone under 21 to possess, consume or transport liquor, malt, or brewed beverages, or to furnish alcoholic beverages to minors, according to the Pennsylvania Crime Codes and University Policy. Police will charge offenders according to state laws and file Disciplinary Referrals to Student Affairs. If Police charge any minor (under age 21) with “Underage Consumption or Possession,” they are required by law to notify the parent(s) or guardian(s) of the minor charged.
It is illegal for anyone to possess, use or sell any drug or item deemed to be illegal in the Pennsylvania Crimes Code’s “Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act.” Police will charge violators according to state laws and file Disciplinary Referrals to Student Affairs. Police also enforce the local police ordinance, which makes it a summary offense to sell or possess drug paraphernalia (pipes, bongs, etc.) which is used or intended to be used with any substance classified as illegal.
Bicycles & Skateboards
See PSU Policy: University Policy SY16 >>
University policy prohibits the possession, carrying, or use of any weapon, firearm, explosive, firework, or paintball device in any campus building or facility or in any vehicle on campus. Storage of any of the aforementioned anywhere on campus is also prohibited.
Penn State Lehigh Valley is a SMOKE FREE campus.
Smoking and the use of tobacco are prohibited in and on all University owned or leased properties, facilities, and vehicles. Smoking includes the burning of any type of lit pipe, cigar, cigarette, or any other smoking equipment, whether filled with tobacco or any other type of material.
To prevent possible fires, please dispose of cigarettes in designated receptacles.
AD32 The Pennsylvania State University is committed to a healthful environment for all members of the community at all locations.